Tags

,

Image

Finn built this lovely bamboo pergola last summer to provide better support to my wildly overgrown wisteria and shade the small patio he’d built the summer before. The wisteria had to be cut off its previous support, but is coming back nicely this spring. Our little yard faces west and has no trees (it was paved over completely when we moved in) so this little spot is our one patch of shade for diners al fresco and general relaxing. It had one major drawback. Mosquitoes tended to make the evening hours unbearable. I stumbled upon this site listing mosquito repellent plants and thought I’d try stocking the planter boxes that surround the space with them this year. The weather last weekend was lovely and my garden has been neglected, so I pulled out all the baby trees from the planter boxes and went shopping. I had to go to a couple garden centers to find them all, although if I’d started here I wouldn’t have had to try so many places.

First I laid out my plants.

Image

Lemongrass, mint and marigolds. A random carnation I’d been given for Mother’s Day.  It was looking a little too sparse, so off I went again, this time looking for rosemary, more mint and something that trailed for interest.

Image

I came back with a trailing spearmint, purple basil, a large rosemary bush in a pot, some lovely sedums for the shady spots and several vegetables to fill in another spot in the garden.

Image

Still sparse, but it will fill in quickly. Here’s the other side.

Image

The rosemary covers a blank corner where the patio and garden meet and smells so lovely.

Image

The vegis, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, zucchini and cauliflower went in with the lettuce, kale, broccoli and brussel sprouts. Its supposed to be almost 90 this weekend, so I think this is the last hurrah for the lettuce. Some sweet peas went at the arbor base to cover that. I may move it soon though, can’t decide if I like it there. Shadow of the giant courtesy of the western sun.

Image

Some quick weeding in other areas that have been much neglected of late.

Image

Hello Mr. Owl. Why don’t you have a seat in this spot that the neighbor cat insists on trampling.

A final impulse purchase plant, who’s name I can’t remember, went in next to the willow dome.

Image

Which is doing fabulously by the way, sprouts are emerging all over the place.

Image

I spent a lovely afternoon working outside this week and can confirm that editing meeting notes and budgets is much more pleasant under the pergola. And the mint for an evening mojito was a bonus.

Image